Executive Board

the-nyscha-board-10-19-2016The NYSCHA Board at the 2016 Annual Meeting

The Executive Board consists of elected officers, section chairs, committee chairs, appointed positions, and ACHA representatives. The Board meets four times a year to discuss policies, budget, and other issues affecting the organization and to plan the annual conference.

NYSCHA 2016-17 Executive Board


NYSCHA President

rachel-2016

Dr. Rachel Bergeson received her Baccalaureate degree from Augustana College in 1974 and her Doctorate in Medicine in 1978 from the University of Massachusetts Medical School. She completed her residency in Pediatric Medicine at Rhode Island Hospital (now known as Hasbro Children’s Hospital) in 1981 and completed her fellowship in Adolescent Medicine at Long Island Jewish/Hillside Medical Center (now known as Schneider Children’s Hospital) in 1983. She has been board certified by the American Academy of Pediatrics since 1981 and was board certified in Adolescent Medicine in 1997.

Dr. Rachel Bergeson began working at Stony Brook University Student Health Service as part of her Adolescent Medicine rotations in 1981 and was hired as a physician in 1983.  In 1986, she became the Acting Director of the Student Health Service and was made Director in 1989 where she has remained until the present.  Dr. Bergeson was instrumental in getting her Student Health Service accredited by the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC) and has maintained their high standards and accreditation since 1998.

Rachel helped write the original constitution of the SUNY Health Services Council in 1987 and served as president of the organization from 1996 to 1998. Rachel became a NYSCHA member in the 90’s and she was honored with the Clifford B. Reifler Award for Outstanding Leadership in College Health in 2011.  Dr. Bergeson became the liaison between the SUNY Health Council and the NYSCHA Board in 2012 and has served on the NYSCHA Board in that capacity until 2016 when she became President-Elect.

Rachel lives on Long Island in Setauket, NY with her husband, three dogs and a cat.  She has four adult children.

 Rachel has been active with NYSCHA since the 1990’s and believes that involvement at the state and national level is an essential part of college health.  

 

NYSCHA Officers

President
Rachel Bergeson MD
Stony Brook University
Bergeson@stonybrook.edu
631-632-6740

President Elect
Position unfilled.

Secretary
Sara Gleisle, MS, CHES
The College at Brockport, SUNY
sgleisle@brockport.edu
585-395-5881

Treasurer
Rebecca Harrington, MA
SUNY Oneonta
Rebecca.Harrington@oneonta.edu
607-436-3540

Past President
Marcus Hotaling, PhD 
Union College
hotalinm@union.edu
518-388-6161

ACHA Region V Representative
Margaret Higham, MD
Tufts University
Margaret.higham@tufts.edu
617-627-3350

ACHA Nominating Committee
Keith Anderson, PhD
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Anderk4@rpi.edu
518-276-6479

NYSCHA Section Chairs

Administration
Erin Halligan-Avery, PhD
SUNY Geneseo
halliganavery@geneseo.edu
585-245-5736

Clinical Medicine
Kathleen Camelo, MD
SUNY Plattsburgh
camelokm@plattsburgh.edu
518-564-2187

Health Promotion
Bridget Bradish, MSEd, CHES
SUNY Potsdam
bradisba@potsdam.edu
315-267-3676

 

Mental Health
Anne Kearney, MSW
LeMoyne College
kearneae@lemoyne.edu
315-445-4195

Nursing
Deborah Penoyer, MS, RN
SUNY Geneseo
penoyer@geneseo.edu
585-245-5736

Community Colleges
Anne Popeo, BS, RN
Mohawk Valley Community College
apopeo@mvcc.edu
315-792-5683

Students
Tristan Ford
University of Rochester
tford6@u.rochester.edu

Appointed Positions

Advocacy
Ralph Manchester, MD
University of Rochester
rmanchester@uhs.rochester.edu
585-275-2679

Awards and Nominations
Paula Snyder, RN, BSN
Jamestown Community College
PaulaSnyder@mail.sunyjcc.edu
716-376-7569

Communications
Heidi Tanner, M.Ed.
Hartwick College
tannerh@hartwick.edu
607-431-4500

Historian
Mary Madsen, RN, C
University of Rochester
mmadsen@uhs.rochester.edu  
585-275-2196

Liaison to the SUNY Health Services Council
Libby Caruso, MSN, ANP-BC
The College at Brockport, SUNY
ecaruso@brockport.edu
585-395-5249

NYSCHA Conference Planner
Linda Dudman, MPA
University of Rochester
ldudman@uhs.rochester.edu
585-273-5770

NYSCHA Conference Planner
Rebecca Harrington, MA
SUNY Oneonta
Rebecca.harrington@oneonta.edu
607-436-3540

NYSCHA Exhibit Coordinator
Mary Madsen, RN, C
University of Rochester
mmadsen@uhs.rochester.edu  
585-275-2196